Wednesday, May 29, 2013

DARK CHILD by Adina West:
Road to Publication

It's a packed post for Writer Wednesday! Adina West shares her road to publication and the day she got "The Call". Plus, a blurb for her debut paranormal fantasy, DARK CHILD. First up, her story...

My Road to Publication: The day I got ‘The Call” (or email!)

"You never answer your mobile phone," my sister always complains. "It's really annoying." She's right though - I often have my phone muted so it doesn't disturb me when I'm putting my son to sleep...and then I forget to turn the sound back on. So my call was actually a missed call.

But I'll start a bit further back, with the story of how this book came about. I've been jotting down story ideas since I was a child, but it wasn't 'til I had my first child in 2007 that I started taking what I was doing seriously. I had less free time than I'd ever had before, but I knew I wanted to write.
I'd worked on dozens of ideas over the years, usually not getting more than a few chapters in (or less!) before abandoning them. One manuscript - for a historical romance - I'd spent about six years on, and it was almost complete at 75,000 words. But I was deeply unhappy with it, and not sure why. Looking back, it was because it was riddled with rookie errors - but at the time, I couldn't put my finger on the problem.

Anyway, I'd told myself that I wouldn't start another project until my historical was finished - but I was well and truly blocked. Meanwhile, I'd been reading some paranormal romance by various authors, and then Twilight fever hit...

Late in 2008, I found myself writing something - just a disjointed fragment - in a real-world setting but with paranormal elements. Over the coming months, I kept thinking about the story surrounding that one scene, and early in 2009 I started to write in earnest. By September, I had a complete first draft, and I revised and polished, and then got feedback from a group of wonderful beta readers. By the beginning of 2010, I'd incorporated their suggestions and revised some more, and then I started querying agents. Many months - and many rejections - later, I signed with my agent. She requested further revisions, and I completed them late in 2010.

Unfortunately the GFC hit then, and selling anything to publishers was harder than ever, so it wasn’t until early in 2012 that my agent sent the first part of Dark Child to Momentum, Pan Macmillan Australia's new digital-only division. Then a month or so later, in February 2012, she emailed to say that they'd requested the full. Still, after playing the waiting game for the previous year, I didn't let myself get my hopes up. On a Tuesday morning at the beginning of April, I was at playgroup with my kids, surrounded by screaming children, and somehow, I heard the beep of my phone as a text message came through. It was from my agent, asking me to call her! And then I checked my email (gotta love these smart phones) and there was one from her, again asking me to call her. Getting not one, but two messages was enough to have me in a mild state of shock, because my agent is more the email type. Until then, I don't think she'd ever rung me before. So I called her straight back - and she gave me the news that Joel Naoum, the publisher at Momentum, loved Dark Child! And he'd made an offer for world e-book rights.
Honestly, I think I was in shock when I first heard - and rather than scaring all the playgroup kids by jumping up and down and squealing, I limited myself to telling all the other mums and contacting my entire family (and my beta gals, my wonderful cheer squad) to let them know the good news! It’s taken plenty of work to get Dark Child edited and polished and ready for the world, but now it’s out there and I couldn’t be prouder. Hearing from readers who’ve enjoyed Kat’s story makes all the hard work worthwhile! And now, of course, I’m working on the sequel…

About Dark Child
Release Date: February - June 2013
Publisher: Pan Macmillan’s digital-only imprint, Momentum
Genre: Paranormal Fantasy

A serialized novel in five parts starting 1 Feb 2013. With one episode released each month, it has gained a growing following, and on 1st May, Dark Child: Episode 4 debuted at #1 on the Apple iBookstore charts in Australia and New Zealand, and #4 on the iBookstore charts in the UK.

The concluding part, Dark Child: Episode 5, will be released 1 June together with the Omnibus Edition which combines all five parts in one novel as I originally wrote it.

Dark Child: Episode 1, the novella length introduction to this series, is available for free on promotion. Download it here.

Blurb for Dark Child

Perfect for fans of The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare, this intriguing urban fantasy follows the story of Kat Chanter, who discovers that the world she knows is controlled by ancient creatures who feed on blood. And she might just be one of them ...

Lately things have been getting weird for pathology technician Kat Chanter. She's been craving raw meat, and having dreams so realistic they're scary. When she accepts a job offer from the prestigious Hema Castus Research Institute, she hopes she'll have the chance to discover what's wrong with her, but instead, her move to New York thrusts her headlong into a treacherous hidden world, where the wrong move could be fatal . . .

Tarot, witchcraft and astrology all take on a frightening resonance in Dark Child's richly imagined alternative reality where vampiric beings live among us, hidden by magic. Dark romance tangles with paranormal fantasy and page-turning suspense in this enthralling tale of 'dark child' Kat Chanter, half-human and half-vampire, who has woken an ancient prophecy and must face a formidable destiny.

Available now from leading online retailers, Omnibus buy links are here

About the Author
 
Adina West grew up on a remote property on Australia’s east coast, in country New South Wales. She spent most of her childhood curled up with a book, and her first teenage job was shelving books at the local library, where she was cautioned more than once for reading them instead of putting them away.

Her first stories were laboriously typed up with two fingers on her parents’ old typewriter. Her dream of one day being a published writer progressed much faster after she learned to touch type and switched to a computer.

Adina lives in Sydney’s leafy north-west with her IT guru husband, two children, and a couple of unwelcome possums who really don’t know how to take a hint. You can visit her online at www.adinawest.com.

Find her here:


Thank you to Adina for sharing her journey! You have to check out Dark Child. The first novella is free here.

6 comments :

  1. This sounds like one that I've GOT to read! Love that description. And that would make me obsessive about checking my phone! LOL!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Right! I want you to know, I've refreshed the inbox about ten times after reading Adina's post. :)

      Delete
  2. Oh dear, I do NOT want to encourage obsessiveness! It can be a slightly destructive trait in a writer. Ask me how I know...

    ;-)

    ReplyDelete
  3. This sounds wonderful! It's definitely going on my TBR list. Congrats to Adina!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks so much. :-) Hope you enjoy it!

      Delete
  4. ...and thanks for hosting me Tina! :-)

    ReplyDelete