Wednesday, June 27, 2012

Social Media's Positive Powers

Social media needs to be used with the larger audience in mind. When it is easy to engage in conversations with friends over the internet, we forget that others may be looking at our conversations. Thus, we often see meltdowns or controversies of authors, agents or editors behaving badly. In a world that is closer together than ever before, it's so simple to spot the negative actions and sometimes they overshadow the good. Today, for this Writer Wednesday, I'd like to highlight some of the positives I found around the internet superhighways.

Crits for Water

Run by the amazing Kat Brauer, Crits for Water is an online project running from March 31, 2012 to June 30, 2012. Writers pledge a donation to charity in return for a critique from authors, agents or editors. All critiquers donate their time to the auctions or raffles. The goal for 2012 is to raise $10,000 to help bring clean water to people in need.

BE HERE NOW

BE HERE NOW is a documentary by the late Andy Whitfield, star of the hit show "Spartacus: Blood and Sand" season 1. It highlights his life and raises awareness for non-Hodgkin lymphoma, a form of cancer. The auctions raise money to ensure completion of the film. Run by wonderful YA writer, Kathy Bradey, up for auction are critiques from tons of writers and agents. Yelena and I found the project so worthwhile, we jumped at the chance to be involved.

Supporting the IS Foundation 

Heather McCorkle, the super talented YA writer and co-founder of the Writers Road chat on Twitter, will be donating a portion of her book sales to the IS Foundation. Fans of Lost and Vampire Diaries will know the organization's founder - actor, Ian Somerhalder. The IS Foundation supports programs for global conservation, green energy, ending animal cruelty and works with a multitude of non-profit organizations worldwide. To read more about Heather's support of this cause, check out her post here.

Thank you to all of these amazing authors, agents and editors for doing their best to help support these causes. 

Have you spotted a person in the publishing or writing community doing an act of good? Let's talk about the positive.

2 comments :

  1. Aw, thank you for the mention! I couldn't agree more that we need to see more positive out there. I love this focus that you're doing! Author Kristie Cook is also campaigning to help raise money for a great domestic violence hotline.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Anytime. That's awesome about Kristie too! I love when writers give back. With all the negativity spiraling around the web these days, I figured it was time to highlight some of the good. :D

      Delete